Carpe Diem 


We begin each day, knowing for certain some things will happen

But that certainty is also uncertain 

We sleep, assuming we’ll get up again 

We go out, assuming we’ll be back home again 

We end conversations, taking for granted that we will have another soon

We click pictures, delete moments captured otherwise, because they weren’t good enough 

We go through the motions, thinking 

Tomorrow we’ll do it correct, tomorrow we’ll change 

But what if you never live to see that tomorrow 

And you get reduced to a memory of regret and missed chances

We are all drowning in the sea of uncertainty 

All that you have 

Is this moment, right now 

Don’t let it waste

Seize the day, my friend 

Let each breath count

Let each day be better than the last

Let yourself burn with passion 

And leave the traces of burden behind 

Unshackle yourself from memories of the past

Free yourself from expectation and worry 

Live this day like your first 

Live it like your last

Carpe Diem, my friend 

Carpe Diem! 

~insight07


Copyright ©Devika Todi. All rights reserved. 

9 thoughts on “Carpe Diem 

      1. Hello.I have been an avid reader of your posts which i have a subscription to.It has been enjoyable reading through your poems.
        I also have made an effort to write a poem,lovelorn.which you can check out in my blogsite.You can also follow me.Thanks in advance.

        Like

      2. Hey! Thanks a lot for reading my posts. It’s always nice to know your words are reaching people.

        I read your poem, liked it too. Go check out my comment!

        I hope you have a good day, Brian.
        😀

        Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

