Dreams


A thousand eyes stare at me 

As unknown men rob me of my clothes 

They look at my naked body 

While I lie bruised on the cold floor.

Is this what dreams are made of?

Ghost figures laugh and cry 

Looking at me from shadows in the night 

Walking with me, trembling in fear 

Trying to get my attention with all their might.

Is this what dreams are made of?

I’m running from a thousand hands 

That chase me down dark lanes 

Crying all this while 

Blood flows down my veins. 

Is this what dreams are made of? 

The old lady pushes my thighs apart 

Plunges a knife deep into my body 

Again and again, until I can’t bear the pain 

I’m left all alone, bleeding in the rain. 

Is this what dreams are made of? 

Little kids play with toys

Barbies, houses and clay figures 

Three girls and a boy 

Beside them lies a bloodied scissor. 

Is this what dreams are made of? 

I don’t know about others 

But each night 

I have these visions 

That make me gasp 

Tears gather in my eyes 

This is what my dreams are made of 

This is what my mind chooses for me to see

Only dark all around 

No light to be found. 

~insight07

Copyright Β©Devika Todi. All rights reserved. 

11 thoughts on “Dreams

I would love to hear from you!

