Moments Frozen


Moments frozen
Lay in a box
Under my bed

Today, after a long time
I took that box out
And nestled it on my lap.

One by one
I see each of them
And pause for a minute

This one is a picture of my family
It was taken when I was born
Everyone seems happy.

My sister, glad to have a new doll.
My mumma, exhausted, but glowing.
My daddy, holding my tiny fingers, in awe.

This one was taken on my sister’s eighth birthday
My daddy making her cut the cake
While I clutched onto my mom, looking at the sweet delight gleefully.

This one was taken on a random school day
My sister is dressed neatly in her red tunic, while I am crying.
My dad was somewhere, busy.

This one was taken on my thirteenth birthday
My friends cheer for me
While my sister stands beside me

This one is of my parents
Taken on a rainy Sunday
My mom looks at my dad with all her love, while he watches television

This one was clicked when my sister graduated from school
All of us stand proud
My dad had been busy.

This one was clicked when we had gone to the beach
We are splashing water on each other
My dad had gone for a walk.

This one was clicked when I started college
My mom had come to help me settle
I don’t remember why dad was not there.

This is the most recent one.
My mother standing alone, looking at the sunset.
Her eyes seem more alive than ever. My parents had separated a few weeks prior.

Laughter still rings in my ear.
The moments play infront of my eyes.
Memory plays tricks with me, as I go back in time.

Feeling tears on my cheeks,
I close the box again.
Feel the patterns my sister had carved on them when we were younger.

I push the box back
Beneath my bed,
Where it collects dust.

I look at the family photo that hangs on my wall
My sister, her husband, my mother, and I
Stand together arms linked with bright smiles on our faces

I think about how time changes everything
It brings out the villian in all of us.
But things happen for the best, in the end.

I search for my phone, then call my dad
He picks up on the first ring, as always.
“Hey baby girl. Finally remembered your daddy?”

~insight07

Copyright Β©Devika Todi. All rights reserved.

44 thoughts on “Moments Frozen

      1. Hey,I would like to keep the anonymity, if you don’t mind.
        But you can call me “A”.:D
        (That’s the initial letter of my name,as you might have guessed.:P)
        Sorry for that.*sheepish smile*

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Uh I understood that. But my sister is nicknamed Akku. Anyway I like the sound of it. I know I am coming off as a total weirdo. But, I just felt like it. You don’t mind, right? Even if you do, it’s fine. Just say so. I will refer to you as A. πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No no.That’s perfectly alright.And so damn sweet of you.πŸ˜„
        And you aren’t coming off as a weirdo.That’s my title.:P
        I like Akku.❀
        But I need one for you,too.So,what do I call you? :/
        Does D sound good?
        I know I know. Not at all creative.*sighs*
        But we will have to make do,till I can think of a better one.:D

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh my.. how your words grab me and pour out my emotions is incredible.
    I can resonate with this so much, for a second it felt like being there, like a invisible visitor looking over your shoulder. This touches my heart.. wow!

    Liked by 3 people

      1. I bet! And they need to be made from time to time to let those talented people out there know, they’ve reached the heart of a complete stranger out there somewhere in the world. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      2. You and me both! I absolutely love the interaction with other bloggers from all around the world and it’s always amazing to see how differently people are able to relate to ones writing.
        Hahaha, AWESOME!!!!! I’m so happy to have made your day! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It is pretty amazing. I mean, imagine.
        There you are, sitting infront of your laptop, phone, or whatever. Reading my thoughts. Talking to me.
        While here I am, in another corner of the world, sitting Infront of another screen. Talking to you.
        Mind boggling.

        Liked by 2 people

      4. And here we are, sharing, connecting and sending smiles to one another, travelling thousands of miles in seconds to reach their destination and fulfill their purpose: Putting a smile on a strangers face. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Heartbreaking, your writing skills are Awesome, and your are right everything happens for a reason…. Good luck for your future…
    Happy blogging…😊😊

    Like

I would love to hear from you!

